On the road to Fethiye !

I left the Black Sea by hitch-hiking to reach Izmir next to the Aegean Sea. It worked quite well as I arrived in Izmir (500km away) before dawn. Kaan hosted me for one night and showed me the seaside and its animated streets. I spent the next days discovering the big bazar and its local specilities. Omer and his family also hosted me for one night and made me feel at home with an amazing Turkish breakfast. Then Alper showed me around and brought me to a Couchsurfing gathering.
After this relaxing week-end, I continue my way to Mugla, visiting on the way the famous ruins of Efes. I had the impression to be back in time and was impressed by this civilization who developed so much without electricity, plastic, petrol and computers: without pollution almost!
Cetin showed the white old city of Mugla and then had to go to prepare a demonstration. The whole country was getting hungry because of the death of a teenager after a demonstration or the raise of a Kurdish party… Hasan hosted me in Fethiye before I reached a very small community in the mountain. They are growing a cute garden and preparing medicinal herbal oils. I finaly spent one day with Mert, the sailor to see the Marina and his boat: the Siesta Zone.

And here are the pictures:

around Fethiye

If you want to sail with Mert around Fethiye or get a sailing licence just visit his website

Leave a Reply

